Corporate Governance Awards judges announced and submissions due July 29

The Secretary General has announced the judging panel that will decide the winners of this year’s corporate governance awards, for which submissions must be submitted by July 29.

Prabha Sipi Bhandari is a new panel member this year. She recently joined American International Group (AIG) as Senior Vice President, Assistant General Counsel and Corporate Secretary. Bhandari was previously Senior Vice President and Senior Assistant General Counsel at Freddie Mac. Previously, she spent more than ten years at Deutsche Bank in senior positions managing legal groups covering mergers and acquisitions and dispute resolution, before being promoted to Managing Director and General Counsel of Deutsche Bank Securities.

Bhandari was previously a vice president and associate general counsel at Viacom, and before that he was a mergers and acquisitions partner at the law firm Davis Polk & Wardwell. She began her legal career as a court clerk for the Honorable John Duhé of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Stephen Giove is also joining the panel this year. Giove is co-founder and chief content officer of Ebullience. Prior to May 2020, he was a Partner in the Capital Markets Group and Co-Founder of the Corporate Governance Advisory Group at Shearman & Sterling. He joined the firm in 1987, became a partner in 1993, was the firm’s recruiting partner from 1997 to 1999, was co-head of its U.S. capital markets group from 2003 to 2007, and served as a committee member. of global commercial development of the company from 2008. to 2010.

Bhandari and Giove join other industry experts who have served on the panel over the past few years:

  • Joan Conley, Board Member of EJF Acquisition Corp and Tigo Energy and Senior Advisor on Corporate Governance and ESG Programs at Nasdaq
  • Lucy Fato, Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Global Head of Communications and Government Affairs at AIG (noting some categories)
  • Matthew Geekie, Senior Vice President, Secretary and General Counsel at Graybar
  • Eileen Kamerick, non-executive director at Associated Banc-corp, ACV Auctions, Hochschild Mining and Legg Mason Closed End Funds.

The 15th Corporate Governance Awards will be presented at an in-person gala ceremony in New York City on November 9. The awards recognize outstanding achievement by companies and individuals in governance, risk management and compliance (GRC).

Applications may be submitted – free of charge – by corporate secretaries, legal counsel, compliance officers and other governance officials at US-listed/domiciled companies, or by suppliers or contractors services on behalf of their clients.

The categories open for nominations this year are:
Best AGM
Best Compliance & Ethics Program
Better ESG reporting
Best Global Entity Management
Better governance around a corporate transaction
Best Proxy Statement (Small Cap, Mid Cap & Large Cap)
Better shareholder engagement
Better use of technology
Governance Professional of the Year (Small-Mid Cap and Large Cap)
Governance Team of the Year (Small-Mid Cap and Large Cap)
rising star

Pricing details can be found by clicking here. Entries can be submitted using an online form located herewhich also includes information on entry guidelines and category criteria.

Entries will be judged by a panel of experts made up of GRC professionals and the editorial team of the General Secretariat. It is free to submit an application and professionals can nominate in several categories. Full shortlists will be released in mid-October, with those on the shortlists being notified in the weeks prior.

Details of last year’s awards and winners can be found in a special report by clicking here.

Helen D. Jessen